Gimme, Gimme Gimme

4 Dec 2010



Sekolah Sukan Bandar Penawar (SSBP) emerged as Champions of the National U-16 Women Hockey Tournament 2010 after defeating Kuala Lumpur in the final at the MBKT Hockey Stadium in Kuala Terengganu.

After a goalless first half SSBP struck twice in quick succession through Norshahida Sakira Kirman and Liyana Aqilah Mohamad Sepawi towards the end of the match against the City Girls to record a 2-0 win. This left them together with host Terengganu as the only unbeaten teams in the tournament.

Earlier The Girl Turtles defeated Melaka 4-2 to clinch third place. The win showed the mental strength of the players after suffering a heartbreaking penalty-stroke defeat to Kuala Lumpur yesterday evening.

The individual awards were evenly spread with the tournament Top-scorer was won by SSBP's Hanis Nadiah Onn while the award for the Best Goalkeeper was won by Terengganu Noor Rul Azwani Zuraiden. Kuala Lumpur Surizan Awang Noh was named as the Player of the Tournament award.


No comments: